London Symphony Orchestra / Sir Antonio Pappano

Total Liszt

26 November 2017 / 19:00

Enter the wild, heady and relentlessly imaginative world of Franz Liszt, with music full of imposing power and his trademark piano fireworks.

Liszt’s works speak of a brilliant musical imagination, sparked by fantastical stories and vivid impressions drawn from art and the world around him. Sir Antonio Pappano brings together three works that reveal these rich sources of inspiration – a painting encountered on an Italian sojourn in Sposalizio, the powerful drama of Goethe’s Faust, and a lifelong fascination with the macabre.

Pianist Alice Sara Ott is more than a match for Liszt’s famously virtuosic music. She joins Pappano and the LSO for the explosive Totentanz (Dance of Death), taking on its wild darkness, hammering sounds and cascades of chords that whip up and down the piano’s keyboard.

Programme & Performers

Liszt orch Sciarrino Sposalizio
Liszt Totentanz *
Liszt A Faust Symphony

London Symphony Orchestra
Sir Antonio Pappano conductor
Alice Sara Ott piano *
Brenden Gunnell tenor
Gentlemen of the London Symphony Chorus
Simon Halsey chorus director


why not try

Yto Barrada
7 Feb 18 - 20 May 18 / Curve Gallery
Information info

The Big Sick (15)
28 Jul 17 - 24 Aug 17 / Cinema 2
Information info