BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert

Michael Collins & Friends

23 February 2018 / 13:00
LSO St Luke’s

Beginning his four-concert residency at LSO St Luke’s, Michael Collins presents three works for clarinet by Mozart, Schumann and Brahms.

Mozart’s Trio was the first piece written for the combination of clarinet, viola and piano. And its nickname – ‘Kegelstatt’, meaning bowling alley – betrays the lively spirit at play between the instruments.

He ends with Brahms, and the second clarinet sonata from Op 120, which coaxed the composer out of an early retirement in order to celebrate the lyrical possibilities and brilliant tone of this instrument.

Programme & Performers

Mozart Trio in E flat major, Kegelstatt
Bruch Three Pieces for clarinet, viola and piano Op 83 Nos 2, 5 and 7
Brahms Clarinet Sonata in E-flat major

Michael Collins clarinet
Lawerence Power viola
Michael McHale piano


why not try

Barbican Backstage: RSC
16 Jan 18 / Theatre
Information info

The Big Barbican Adventure
25 Jan 16 - 31 Dec 17 / Barbican Open Spaces
Information info

Basquiat and the Screen
26 Oct 17 / Frobisher Auditorium 2
Information info